Amazon

A number of popular website became unavailable on Tuesday, as early reports trace the cause back to Fastly, a cloud computing provider supporting a variety of major websites.

Affected websites – including Amazon, Reddit, Twitch, and the UK Government website – displayed the message: “Error 503 Service Unavailable”.

On Fastly’s status page, it announced at 9:58 UTC (11:58 CEST) that it was investigating “potential impact to performance with our CDN services”.

By 10:44 UTC (12:44 CEST), it said that it had identified the issue and that a fix was being implemented.

At the time of writing, it says that “the issue has been identified and a fix has been applied”. Indeed, the aforementioned affected websites seem to be available.

The markets responded quickly to the outage, with shares of the company sinking five per cent in pre-market.

The Body Shop’s fair-trade suppliers might be left in limbo after collapse of UK company

February 19, 2024
by Anthea Cachia

The company is known of its standards of ethical, fair trade and cruelty free products

Ever wonder how many videos are on YouTube? Researchers reveal it’s a whopping 14 billion

February 10, 2024
by Robert Fenech

The way YouTube is used makes it most aptly described as infrastructure, say researchers

European Parliament to establish TikTok presence despite app’s ban on corporate phones

February 7, 2024
by Anthea Cachia

The Parliament is adopting this approach to fight disinformation and get the message across, while retaining cyber security