Prime Minister Robert Abela has announced that Malta is one of four European Union member states that are ready to recognise Palestine as a state.

A short press release issued by the Office of the Prime Minister stated that the leaders of Malta, Spain, Ireland and Slovenia met in the margins of the European Council to discuss the latest developments in Gaza and the Middle East.

The four countries agreed that the two-state solution is crucial for peace in the Middle East and therefore ready to recognise Palestine as a State when the conditions for the establishment of this same state allow.

They all agreed that there should be a permanent ceasefire immediately, that all hostages be released and humanitarian aid should be delivered immediately.

They also noted positively that the Council agreed with the conclusions on the conflict in the Middle East.

Palestine is recognised as a state by 139 of the United Nations’ 193 members, but lacks recognition from the majority of the EU, as well as the United States, Canada and Mexico.

Malta has long enjoyed friendly relatoins with Palestine, and is one of nine EU countries – largely in the east of the bloc – to recognise it as a sovereign state.

The EU is the single largest donor of foreign aid to the Palestinian Authority.

Featured Image:

Representative Office of Malta in Palestine / Facebook


Inflation risk re-surging as tensions heat up between Israel and Iran

April 19, 2024
by Robert Fenech

Oil and gold prices jumped after the latest strike by Israel

WATCH: Rare torrential rain in Dubai wreaks havoc and causes major disruption

April 17, 2024
by Anthea Cachia

Flooding hits shopping malls, destroying stock

Spain to end ‘golden visa’ scheme over property market impacts

April 9, 2024
by Anthea Cachia

While countries are slowly banning the practice, Malta remains firm in keeping the scheme alive