Streaming giant Netflix is testing a new feature that could help it crack down on password sharing.
To do so, it is rolling out alerts asking users to verify they are authorized to watch on the account being used.
A popup will appear when a user selects their profile on a shared Netflix account, asking them to verify the account by confirming with a text or email sent to the account holder.
If the user is unable to verify, they will be invited to do so later. Failing this, viewers will be prompted to set up a new account.
A company spokesperson commented, “this test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so”.
As part of the company’s terms of service agreement, users agree that accounts “may not be shared with individuals beyond your household”.
The new authorization feature is only a test as things stand, and as such will roll out to a limited number of users who watch on the Netflix TV app.
It comes after the company recorded exploding user figures for 2020, as the pandemic saw more and more people turning to streaming services while stuck in lockdowns.
In 2020, Netflix brought in a net income of $2.7 billion (€2.2 billion), up from $1.9 billion (€1.6 billion) the year before.
Lighter, new technologies, delays and accessory discontinuation as Apple gears up for its launch today
A 20-metre long tennis court at the heart of the vessel makes it a one-of-a-kind
Subscribers may have to pay up to €4.99 to continue sharing their accounts